The Castle, which today resides C.F.R University Hospital, has been built since 1884 by a wealthy family, in British style, with the customary wall of ivy that stretched outside and remained until 1950. It was the first building for the construction on which reinforced concrete has been used.
At the beginning of the First World War the British left Cluj enlisting into the army of his country and never returned to Transylvania. Under these conditions the Austro-Hungarian Empire took over the building and arranged it in order to become the Eastern Front Command headquarter. In 1918 he operated a MAV Hungarian clinic. The evolution of things thwarted the original plans and after the war in 1919 the building became the property of the Romanian state.
In 1920, C.F.R Hospital operated with two divisions of gynecology and neurology. Cession of Northern Transylvania, including the city of Cluj, makes C.F.R Hospital go back into the Hungarian state ownership and becomes Hungarian Railways Hospital (MAV) with 30 beds.
Since 1945, when Romanians return to Cluj, the Hospital becomes once again C.F.R. Hospital which had both Polyclinic and hospital departments: internal medicine, surgery, ENT, ophthalmology and later neurology and gynecology. The clinic and the hospital has gradually expanded so that in the main building remained C.F.R Hospital and the C.F.R Clinic moved into another building, built in 1972 near the railway workshops near the train station, Câmpeni .no. 3, Cluj-Napoca
CFR Cluj Clinic includes doctors’offices and laboratories for functional exploration for C.F.R Cluj Regional Office employees, especially those working in road safety.
Starting from about 1951, subordinated to C.F.R Cluj Hospital, the C.F.R Clinic Dej becomes functional, located on 1st of May street, at no. 27, in the center of the town Dej in Cluj County, intended to serve employees of the C.F.R Regional Office Cluj. Here, there are carried out regular medical checks for employees in safety.
CFR Cluj Hospital served as the Regional Health Directorate CF Cluj.
Since 1964 the Interior Department of the hospital became Medical Clinic IV, with activity on teaching, training and internships for students in year III and IV of the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry.
Starting with the academic year 1976 – 1977 Department of Surgery became Surgical Clinic IV with teaching activity for students from the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry.
Since 1999 C.F.R. Hospital Cluj becomes University Hospital C.F. Cluj. Source
Address: Republicii Street no.14, Cluj-Napoca